Buy Online Bonnie Tyler - Between The Earth And The Stars *product may differ to image displayed

Bonnie Tyler

Between The Earth And The Stars (CD)


Release Date: Mar 22, 2019

Discs: 1

Marking no less than the complete reinvention of a wonderful and much-loved talent this - her 17th studio album - is a collection of brand new recordings. As befits an artist of Bonnie’s undoubted stature, ‘Between The Earth And The Stars’ also features collaborations and contributions from some of her fellow musical legends including Francis Rossi on ‘Someone’s Rockin’ Your Heart’. The album also includes ‘Older’, ‘Bad For Loving You’ and ‘To The Moon and Back’, three tracks written specifically for Bonnie by Amy Wadge, who wrote mega-hit ‘Thinking Out Loud’ with Ed Sheeran and has worked with Camila Cabello and many more. The album sees her reunited with David Mackay, who produced Bonnie’s first two albums.

Bonnie said of the album, “I started singing in April 1969 and worked 6 nights a week for 7 years before being discovered by a talent scout named Roger Bell. He came to Wales from London to listen to a male singer he had been told about, but as there were two floors in the night club and he walked in and heard me singing instead! That was the beginning of my wonderful journey. I’ve performed all over the world, and still love hitting the stage and entertaining my fantastic fans. The time was right however to get back into the studio but I knew that, to mark 50 years of performing, I had to deliver something really special. I’ve done just that! The new material is sounding amazing.”

Between The Earth And The Stars’ is more than just a return to form for the singer known everywhere for her genre-defining hits. Her calling cards are the global number one smash ‘Total Eclipse of the Heart’, but also of course ‘Holding Out For A Hero’. She received a Guinness World Record for ‘Faster Than The Speed of Night’ album which saw her become the first British female to debut at number one on the UK Albums Chart; the album went platinum in the US. Over and above these tracks that made her a household name, she has proved her versatility by enjoying a bilingual number one album in France, releasing Country tracks and performing duets – notably with artists as diverse as Todd Rundgren and Shakin’ Stevens. This new album keeps a link to her past with ‘Hold On’ penned by Kevin Dunne, the bassist in her 70s band, who was a big part of Bonnie reconnecting with David Mackay and creating ‘Between The Earth And The Stars’.

After being discovered in Wales, Bonnie Tyler’s recording career began in 1976 with her first single, and her debut album landed the following year. With an instantly recognisable and potent voice combining grit, power and range, Tyler’s star gradually rose thanks to a series of great songs that slowly exposed her an ever-increasing audience both in the UK and in Europe. However, it was when she linked up with Jim Steinman for ‘Total Eclipse of the Heart’ and indeed ‘Holding Out For A Hero’ [recorded for the soundtrack of smash movie Footloose], that Bonnie Tyler’s career really took off. She’s never looked back.

Between The Earth And The Stars’ is a triumph. Reasserting herself with this bold statement of intent, Bonnie Tyler proves that her voice is just as potent as ever. With Barry Gibb, Cliff Richard and Francis Rossi providing yet more star power, this album is just what Bonnie’s fans have been holding out for…

1. Hold On
2. Battle Of The Sexes
3. Slow Walk
4. Seven Waves Away
5. Someone's Rockin' Your Heart (duet with Francis Rossi)
6. Older
7. Taking Control (duet with Cliff Richard)
8. Between The Earth And The Stars
9. Don't Push Your Luck
10. To The Moon And Back
11. Bad For Loving You
12. Let's Go Crazy Tonight
13. Missing You
14. Move